41.1 C
Sunday, April 21, 2024

Three teams standing — a Rugby Championship like no other

South Africa’s players celebrate winning the 2019 Rugby Championship after beating Argentina 46-13 in Salta last year

SYDNEY – The coronavirus-hit Rugby Championship starts in Sydney on October 31, but without world champions and current title holders South Africa.

Here is what’s been going on and how the tournament is shaping up:

– What is it? –

The Rugby Championship is the southern hemisphere’s premier tournament, ordinarily contested annually by Argentina, Australia, New Zealand, and South Africa.

Owned and managed by SANZAAR — a joint venture between the four participating unions — it used to be known as the Tri-Nations until Argentina were admitted in 2012.

New Zealand’s All Blacks won the inaugural event in 1996 and have dominated since, claiming another 15 titles. Australia and South Africa have…

Read more…

Latest Articles