Lesser stars likely to have a decisive say


Before this season, the Denver Nuggets had never even made it to the NBA Finals, let alone won a league championship — that’s 47 years worth of futility.

Standing between the Nuggets and their first NBA title are the Miami Heat, who have captured three Larry O’Brien trophies, emblematic of league supremacy.

The Heat captured the crown in 2006, 2012 and then repeated in 2013. On each of those ball clubs, Miami boasted at least two superstars.

In 2006, Dywane Wade and Shaquille O’Neal were their standouts. The trio of Lebron James, Wade and Chris Bosh led the Heat to back-to-back titles in 2012 and 2013.

This season, Miami have only one truly great player, Jimmy Butler (28.5 points per play-off game, including one 52 point effort).

He is backed by a horde of good but not great players with varying skills. More on them later.

Meanwhile, it is the Denver Nuggets who…

Read more…